Monday 24 September 2012

Feng Shui and the Lo-Shu Grid

There is much to discover about the nine numbers of Feng Shui synonymous with the original Lo-Shu Grid or the Magic Square as it is also known.  When Feng Shui was first conceived the Lo-Shu Grid numbers were placed in different locations around the grid.  For example the 2 and the 6 were placed south and north respectively.  This was known as the Early Heaven Arrangement or Yin Feng Shui and the grid was, and still is in some cases, primarily used to determine burial sites.  The ancient Chinese believed that ensuring an auspicious burial site would bring good fortune to future generations of the family.  The Early Heaven Arrangement is used in Flying Star Feng Shui, a Formula which deals with the dimension of time.
However the Lo-Shu Grid now more commonly used is known as the Later Heaven Arrangement or Yang Feng Shui; Feng Shui of the living.  

As mentioned in an earlier post each line in the Lo-Shu Grid, straight or diagonal, adds up to 15 which is the number of days it takes for the moon to wax and then to wane.  The total of all the numbers adds up to 45 which when divided by 3 brings us back to 15. The 3 x 3 grid gives us the nine numbers of Feng Shui the odd numbers of which are Yang and the even numbers are Yin.

When the Yin/Yang symbol is superimposed over the Lo-Shu Grid we begin to see more of the balance and interaction of Yin and Yang. 

Adding the numbers opposite each other excluding the centre number 5, both in a straight line and diagonally, on the above grid the total is always 10.  They also combine Yin and Yang.  For example 8, is located in a Yang area and its opposite number, 2, is located in a Yin area.  

The number 8 is also a Yin number resulting in an element of Yang within the Yin.

10 is said to signify completion of a cycle and when we reduce this to a single number it begins a new cycle.  It also represents the basis of all computer code, the binary system.
The number 5 in the centre has an equal balance of Yin and Yang.

The Yin/Yang symbol is cyclical moving as it does from winter in the north (1) to late winter/early spring (8), spring (3), early summer (4), midsummer (9), early autumn (2), autumn (7), to late autumn/early winter (6.) 

This clockwise cyclical movement also refers to the path of the sun from its lowest point during the night (1), early morning (8), sunrise (3), late morning (4), midday (9), afternoon (2), early evening (7), to late evening/early night (6.)

This creates yin (waxing) and yang (waning.)

The central number 5 is the Tai Chi (the centre) of the grid and it represents the heart of the home when it is superimposed over a house plan.  Add any of the other numbers to 5, reduce them to a single number where necessary and the Lo Shu grid is complete.  And it is this grid that forms the basis of the Eight Mansions (Eight Houses or Eight Palaces) Formula of Feng Shui; the personalised formula based on the birth date of an individual.

To the fulfillment of your dreams


We hope enjoy our blogs and leave any comments below or email: visit: LynC

No comments:

Post a Comment